little round house on the prairie

August 8, 2011 — 2 Comments

An unlikely sight in Wells County, North Dakota -

According to the National Register of Historic Places, which listed the house in 1997, it was built in 1900 by Elgin Hurd.  It’s located in the middle of nowhere, a few miles south of Hurdsfield.

 

2 responses to little round house on the prairie

  1. 
    Dennis Carson June 19, 2012 at 8:45 am

    I grew up four to five miles north of the Hurd House and my sisters and I visited it in 1945 when I was five years old. South of the house, about 300 feet is a all brick structure that is built over a spring. The spring furnished water to the ranch that was southeast and down the hill from the house. I have visited the house each time I am in the area and am proud that no one has ever distroyed any of it. If you are ever in the area make sure you visit it.

  2. 

    It’s beautiful; I’d love to visit it. Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

